The 2nd International Workshop

on energy and Wireless Sensors (e-WiSe)

to be held in conjunction with IEEE iThings and IEEE CPSCom

August 20-23, 2013 - Beijing, China

Workshop chairs: Marise Bafleur and Jean-Marie Dilhac, LAAS-CNRS, FRANCE


The second e-WiSe workshop that will be held on a single day (to be defined) during the 2013 IEEE International Conference on iThings/CPSCom (, aims at sharing theoretical, experimental and operational results in the design and development of wireless sensors networks with a focus on energy management. In particular, wireless sensors operating with very limited electrochemical energy resources, and battery-free sensors, will be the objects of interest.

Consequently, the challenges related to environmental energy capture, energy storage, high yield circuits, energy-aware sensing, communication, and protocols are topics to be considered.


Novel papers are invited from both academic and industrial research institutions, describing original results, new technical implementations, or in-depth user studies, including but not limited to:

    Environmental energy capture for battery life extension,

    Environmental energy capture for battery-free sensors,

    Energy storage,

    Circuits, modelling and methods for energy management,

    Energy aware sensing and signal processing,

    Energy aware wireless modulations and communication protocols,

    Case study of wireless sensor network deployment in aeronautics, space, medical, civil engineering, military applications


Demos from both academic and industrial research institutions are also welcome.


Authors are invited to submit short papers (max 3 pages), including figures, tables, and references. The submission deadline is May 31, 2013. The pdf file of your abstract should be sent to: Please use IEEE word template.


All papers will be reviewed by the Program Committee, which will assess significance, originality, accuracy, and clarity. Status notification will be sent on June 15, 2013. Camera-ready will be due: June 30, 2013.



Technical Program Committee:


Skandar Basrour, TIMA, Grenoble, FRANCE

Philippe Basset, ESIEE, Paris, FRANCE

Pere Miribel Catala, University of Barcelona, SPAIN

Laurent Clavier, IEMN, Lille, FRANCE

Jean-Michel Friedt, SENSeOR, Besan¨on, FRANCE

Takayuki Fujita, University of Hyogo, Hyogo, JAPAN

Hirokuni HACHIUMA, KELK Ltd., Kanagawa, JAPAN

Paul Mitcheson, Imperial College, London, UK

Yuji Suzuki, The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, JAPAN

Manos M Tentzeris, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA

Xiaohong Wang, Tsinghua University, Beijing, CHINA

Meiling Zhu, Cranfield University, Cranfield, UK



Important dates:


Submission deadline: May 31, 2013

Notification of Acceptance: June 15, 2013

Camera-ready due: June 30, 2013

Conference: August 20-23, 2013